Art & Survival 2016

August 5-7 at Double Edge Theatre, Ashfield, MA
Co-Curated by Matthew Glassman & Nick Slie (Mondo Bizarro)
Web streamed live online via Howlround - watch it HERE

Art & Survival is a series of gatherings focused on collective thinking and dialogue to investigate live art’s influence on human evolution and movement building.

Art & Survival 2016 has three areas in mind. The first is how mystical, esoteric and contemplative thought play a role in the development of vital artistic practice and culture building. From Kabbalah to Carnival, mystical and esoteric thought connects to evolutionary artistic practice. The second lens examines connections to land in relation to artistic, community, and ethical practice. From ecology to agriculture, art to ancestry, first nations history to site-specific art, we will focus on land narratives in times of climate change. The third lens is concerned with movements that affect shifts in social imagination. As individuals and organizations, is there a way to affect change in collective consciousness towards particular societal norms/behaviors?

Web streaming schedule
click here to watch

Saturday, August 6:

Lens #1: Esoteric/Mysticism
9:45am-11:15am EDT (New York) / 8:45am-10:15am CDT (Chicago) / 13:45-15:15 GMT / 2:45pm-4:15pm BST (London) / 15:45-17:15 CEST (Berlin)

Lens #2: Land Narratives
11:45am-1:30pm EDT (New York) / 10:45am-12:30pm CDT (Chicago) / 8:45am-10:30am PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:45-17:30 GMT / 4:45pm-6:30pm BST (London) / 17:45-19:30 CEST (Berlin)

Talk by David Bollier, author of Think Like a Commoner and Patterns of Commoning.
2:30pm EDT (New York) / 1:30pm CDT (Chicago) / 11:30am PDT (Pacific) / 18:30 GMT / 7:30pm BST (London) / 20:30 CEST (Berlin)

Lens #3: Social Movements/Imagination
3:10pm-4:45pm EDT (New York) / 2:10pm-3:45pm CDT (Chicago) / 12:10pm-1:45pm PDT (Los Angeles) / 19:10-20:45 GMT / 8:10pm-9:45pm BST (London) / 21:10-22:45 CEST (Berlin)

Sunday, August 7:

Weaving of the Dialogues
11am-1pm EDT (New York) / 10am-12pm CDT (Chicago) / 15:00-17:00 GMT / 4pm-6pm BST (London) / 17:00-19:00 CEST (Berlin)

Partial List of Participants:

  • Daniel Alexander Jones (NYC, NY); artist, playwright, director
  • Todd London (Seattle, WA); executive director, UW school of drama
  • Chantal Bilodeau (NYC, NY); playwright, founder Artists & Climate Change
  • Michael Premo (NYC, NY); artist, producer
  • Stacy Klein (Ashfield, MA); founder, artistic director, Double Edge Theatre
  • Carlton Turner (Utica, Mississippi); executive director, Alternate Roots
  • David Bollier (Amherst, MA); activist, author Fight to Reclaim the Commons
  • Morgan Jenness (NYC, NY); dramaturg, activist
  • Darron Collinspresident, College of the Atlantic
  • Jamie Gahlon (Boston, MA); senior creative producer, Howlround
  • Vijay Mathew (Boston, MA); cultural strategist, Howlround
  • Barbara Shaffer Bacon (Amherst, MA); co-director, Animating Democracy, Americans for Arts
  • Nicole Garneau (Chicago, IL); artists, activist
  • Mark Valdez (Los Angeles, CA); independent artist
  • Ebony Golden (NYC, NY); founding CEO, Betty's Daughter Arts Collaborative
  • Claudia Alick (Ashland, OR); associate producer, Oregon Shakespeare Festival
  • Dipankur Mukherjee (Minneapolis, MN); artistic director, Pangea World Theatre
  • Chip Thomas (Navajo County, Arizona); photographer, street artist
  • Robert Martin (Harlan, KY); theater/film artist, community arts producer
  • Carlos Uriona (Ashfield, MA/ Buenos Aires); co-artistic director, Double Edge Theatre
  • Matt Fluharty (Winona, MN); director, Art of the Rural
  • Nick Slie (New Orleans, LA); co-founder, co-artistic director, Mondo Bizarro
  • Betsy Theobald Richardsdirector of Creative Strategies, The Opportunity Agenda
  • Moira Brennan (NYC, NY); program director, MAP Fund
  • Quita SullivanNEFA
  • Susan ClampitDC Arts Commission

Click here for Full Participant Bios >>

Art and Survival is supported by New England Foundation for the Arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, Alternate Roots, and The Ethics and Common Good Project, with additional support from Howlround.