The Ensemble

Double Edge Theatre was founded by Stacy Klein in 1982 as an artist-owned ensemble theatre, in which each member would be responsible for the art making as well as the business and board leadership. In 1994 the ensemble moved from Boston to a 100-acre Farm in the Ashfield Massachusetts Hilltowns to further the sustainability of the theatre and its international artist collaborations. In 1996 actor Carlos Uriona moved from Argentina to Ashfield, bringing his outdoor street based theatre experience to the ensemble. In 2014 Klein, Uriona and actor & writer Matthew Glassman, who came to DE in 2000, became co-artistic directors of the ensemble, which also includes producing director Adam Bright, associate directors Jeremy Louise Eaton (actor/designer), Milena Dabova (actor, choreographer), actor/community development director Hannah Jarrell, actor Hayley Brown (on leave), and co-founder Carroll Durand. Jennifer Johnson and John Peitso (musical director), long-term collaborators of over twenty years, recently moved from Boston to Ashfield to permanently join the ensemble. Associate ensemble members are Amanda MillerAndrew Todd, and Evan Barth. Together the group, who hail from across the US, England, Bulgaria, and Argentina, lead the art, the training, the producing, and the Board of the theatre and have been working together from 8 to 34 years.

Sustainability and Staffing

DE has also developed a cooperative food system directed by Rob Lizotte, along with Tadea Klein (resident farmer & costume designer). The administrative staff includes Jeff Freeman, development director; Cariel Klein, marketing director; Jose Neustadt, graphic designer;  Michael Fitzgerald, facilities & operations director; David Flaxman, housekeeping; Gail Weidman, bookkeeper; and admin intern Hannah Burt.

In Residence

Current resident artists at DE are designer Michal Kuriata, musician Robert Carlton, and associate company members Travis Coe and Zoe Batson.
2nd year apprentice Melissa MacDonald

Long-term collaborators 

Long-term collaborators include Brian Fairley, sound & projection design/music/dramaturgy; Jeff Bird, designer/technical director; Alexander Bakshi, composer; Ludmila Bakshi, music and vocal direction; Manuel Uriona, music; Micaela Farías Gómez, music; Walton Wilson, vocal coach; Morgan Jenness, dramaturgy; Maria Baranova, photographer; Dr. Dave Weiland, photographer; Master Bob Markey, tae kwon do; Ray Gray, facilities and farming advisor; Katie Burgess & Walken Schweigert of Children of the Wild; and Richard Newman & Liza Bielby of The Hinterlands.

Consortium of training and place based theatres

Double Edge TheatreCharlestown Working TheaterThe HinterlandsQ-Staff, Mondo Bizarro, Children of the Wild, and Anne Bogart and Stephen Webber, of SITI Company, are members of a national consortium of ensemble-based training companies. The consortium represents ensembles based in the Northeast, Midwest, Southeast and Southwest. Member ensembles share a commitment to physical and vocal training as the foundations of our artistic methodologies, the centrality of place in the creation, presentation and touring of original performance work, and a deep investment in the land and communities we call home. Building upon years of informal relationship and exchange, we came together two years ago to share best practices regarding training, performance and ensemble growth and longevity.

Board of directors

Stacy Klein, president; Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Matthew Glassman, vice president;  Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Adam Bright, treasurer;  Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Carlos Uriona, clerk;  Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Vijay Mathew, officer at large; Cultural Strategist, HowlRound at Emerson College

Donald J. Allison
, LLC, attorney at law, Allison, Angier, Bartmon, Elkins & Fernald, LLP
Hayley Brown, Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Deb Clapp, executive director of League of Chicago Theatres
Milena Dabova, Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Carroll DurandDouble Edge Theatre Ensemble
Jeremy Louise Eaton, Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Frederick Fierst, attorney at law, Fierst, Kane, and Bloomberg
Hannah Jarrell,  Double Edge Theatre Ensemble
Ceceile Klein, President and CEO, Belman Klein Associates
Bruce Lessels, officer at large; president, Zoar Outdoor
Rachel Moore, Director of Individual Giving, Proteus Fund
Joe Poirier, Former President of Greenfield Savings Bank
Rus PeotterWGBY General Manager